Jean Sibelius: Complete Symphonies

Jean Sibelius: Complete Symphonies

Blu-ray Region A

Once bought, this item cannot be cancelled or returned.

5-15d Usually ships within 5-15 days.


Our previous price: US$ 99.99
You save: US$ 5.00 (5%)

Arthaus Musik
Blu-ray Region A

Once bought, this item cannot be cancelled or returned.

5-15d Usually ships within 5-15 days
add to cart


  • Three-disc set
  • Three-disc set


With his seven symphonies the Finnish composer Jean Sibelius marks a high point in the symphonic repertoire of the 20th century. The music evokes the ghostliness of the Finnish landscape, carries an inner strength and depth and proves itself full of technical fi nesse that still poses a challenge for both conductors and performers. For Sibelius “a symphony is not a ‘composition’ in the ordinary sense. Rather, it is a declaration of faith at different stages of one’s life.”
On the occasion of Jean Sibelius’ 150th birthday this DVD edition offers the live recordings of the composer’s seven symphonies by the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra in the new Helsinki Music Centre under the direction of Hannu Lintu. Each symphony is preceded by a documentary and an introduction, giving a new and modern perspective to the legendary Finnish composer and his symphonies.

further info

Official Release Date Nov 13, 2015
Starring Hannu Lintu, Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Director Timo Koivusalo
Screen Format Widescreen
Video Format 1.78:1
Language English
Subtitles English, German, French, Korean, Japanese
Running Time 584 minutes
Genre Musical
Version  US
PAX-Code PAX0007451542
Item Code  0807280179798


useful links

Missing links?

Please log in or create account to submit your link recommendations.

customer reviews

No reviews for Jean Sibelius: Complete Symphonies yet.

Log in or create account to post your own reviews.

personal agent

Please send me an E-Mail when ...

Our privacy statement

tell a friend

Tell your friends about us. Enter as many E-Mail addresses as you like (separated by ";").

Please login first

Our privacy statement

SN: 225 | 1007 { 58 } | | WS: 1 | | Cat: 324